Illinois Driving Without Insurance Attorneys

Cook County Driving Without Inusrance Lawyers

The State of Illinois takes auto insurance coverage very seriously. All drivers are required to have an insurance policy with no less than the minimum coverage for bodily injury, death, and destruction of property. If you are caught driving without adequate insurance coverage, you can be charged with a petty offense. A petty offense is punishable only by fine and you cannot be sentenced to jail time. Still, this charge can have some serious consequences. At the Law Office of Francis J. Discipio, we strive to lessen those consequences and protect your wallet and your driving privileges.

Consequences of Driving Without Insurance

If you are convicted of driving without insurance in Illinois, you will typically see a fine of between $500 and $1,000. You may also be required to carry SR-22 insurance (high risk auto insurance) following this charge, which can multiply your insurance premium. Additionally, the Illinois Secretary of State may choose to suspend your license. Losing your license for any period of time can be a significant hardship and dramatically affect your lifestyle and your livelihood in a negative way. If you choose to drive while your license is suspended and are caught, you could be facing a misdemeanor criminal charge that could result in up to a year in jail and a $2,500 fine.

We understand the importance of maintaining your driving privileges and we take all necessary steps to help you do so. We will work with you to put this matter behind you and get you driving safely and legally again.

Contact Us

If you have been charged with driving without insurance, we can help you resolve the charge and protect your license. Our Practice serves clients throughout the Cook County and DuPage County including Wheaton, Bridgeview, Maywood, Rolling Meadows, and Skokie. Contact Us today for a free initial consultation.

Back to Top